Shenyang Normal University

Updated : 2019-11-06

Shenyang Normal University (SNU) is a comprehensive university specializing in eight categories –– philosophy, economics, law, pedagogy, literature, science, engineering and management.

The university is the former Northeastern College of Education which was established in 1951, and was renamed Shenyang Normal College in 1953 as one of the two earliest undergraduate normal colleges established in Northeast China at that time. It was renamed Liaoning No 1 Normal College in 1965 and back to Shenyang Normal College in 1978. In 2001, with the approval of the Ministry of Education, Liaoning Provincial People’s Government decided to combine Shenyang Normal College with Liaoning College of Education to establish Shenyang Normal University. 

The university covers an area of 1,928 mu (126 hectares), with a building area of over 800,000 million square kilometers and a book collection of 1.8 million. The university has more than 20,000 full-time undergraduate students, more than 3,300 postgraduate students, and over 1,000 foreign students.

SNU has trained more than 70,000 teachers and other professionals, especially those that have made contributions to the development of education in Liaoning province.

The university currently has 1,645 full-time teachers and 14 specially-appointed professors, of which, two are academicians from the Chinese Academy of Sciences, 244 are professors and 593 are associate professors. A total of 30 foreign teachers are also employed. 

The university has successively signed agreements on international academic exchange and cooperation with over 30 universities, colleges and scientific research institutions in countries including the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, Japan, Russia, Belgium, Denmark, Australia and South Korea.

Address: No 253 North Huanghe Avenue, Huanggu district, Shenyang, Liaoning province

Official website:

Copyright © Liaoning Province. All Rights Reserved.Precented by China Daily.