Cities of Liaoning province

Updated : 2019-11-04

Liaoning has jurisdiction over 14 prefecture-level cities, with Shenyang as its capital. Known as "the birthplace of one dynasty and two emperors", Shenyang boasts a proud history. It has three UNESCO World Cultural Heritage Sites as well as more than 1,500 historic and cultural relics. Shenyang is also an important industrial center in China and the core city of Shenyang Economic Zone. Landmarks in Shenyang include Shenyang Palace Museum, Shenyang Qipan Mountain, the 9.18 Historical Museum, Marshal Zhang's Mansion, and Beiling Park.


Shenyang Palace Museum, Shenyang, Liaoning province [Photo/VCG]

The other prestigious city in Liaoning is Dalian, which has enjoyed a good reputation for a long time. Located in the southern part of the Liaodong Peninsula and southeast of Liaoning province, and being one of the first 14 coastal cities to open up to the outside world, Dalian serves as an important port in the province of Liaoning. As an international center for airlines, logistics and regional finance in Northeast Asia, it is also Northeast China's largest port.

Among the landmarks of Dalian there are Dalian Natural History Museum, Russian Style Street, Xinhai Park, Lushun Museum, Dalian Shell Museum, Xinhai Square, Golden Pebble Beach and so on.


Golden Pebble Beach, Dalian, Liaoning province [Photo/VCG]

Liaoning also has other attracting cities such as Dandong, the central region of Northeast Asia. The province is definitely a place with vast territory and abundant resources that deserves a more detailed exploration.

Copyright © Liaoning Province. All Rights Reserved.Precented by China Daily.